New books

I’m slowly getting the necessary work done on my flat so I can move in, which I’m really looking forward to – it means I’ll get the chance to expand on and openly practice my spiritual path, as well as finally being fully independent. While I don’t really hide my tools and my altar is a permanent feature of my bedroom, I tend to wait until the house is empty before meditating, using my rosaries, or casting a circle, to make sure I’m not disturbed. Partly so I don’t break my concentration and partly so I don’t have to explain what I’m doing.

So in the meantime I’m taking a leaf out of Marietta’s book and spending the time between work and decorating to do more studying. I recently went on a book-buying spree, ending up with a mix of Christian and Pagan books. I’ll be posting more about each one as I read it, and not all of them have arrived yet, but my latest aquisitions are:

Circle, Coven, and Grove by Deborah Blake
Wicca: A Year and a Day by Timothy Roderick
How to be a Bad Christian … And a Better Human Being by Dave Tomlinson
Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Quereshi
Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis
Being Christian: Baptism, Bible, Eucharist, Prayer by Rowan Williams
Solitary Wicca for Life: A Complete Guide to Mastering the Craft on Your Own by Arin Murphy-Hiscock
Pagan Paths: A Guide to Wicca, Druidry, Asatru, Shamanism and Other Pagan Practices by Peter Jennings
We Make the Road by Walking: A Year-Long Quest for Spiritual Formation, Reorientation and Activation by Brian D. McLaren

A couple of them I bought on recommendation, the rest I chose after browsing the ‘you might like these other books’ bit at the bottom of Waterstones and Amazon pages. Most of the Christian books are Anglican or Non-Conformist as opposed to Catholic, in the same way that a fair few of the Pagan books are Wiccan-based. As I’ve said elsewhere, my beliefs are mostly Christian, and my Methodist religious upbringing means I lean more towards Protestant theology than Roman Catholic, which influenced my choice of books. And although I define myself as Christo-Pagan, a lot of the Pagan practices that I incorporate into my religion are influenced by Wicca, as when I first started researching Paganism I was using the internet, and most of the information I found there during my early searches was either Wiccan or Wiccan-influenced, again influencing my choice of books.

Here’s to many happy hours of reading!

Leave a Reply

