Where am I going again?

My pentacle arrived yesterday, and it’s now sitting on my altar. In fact, it arrived just in time, as today is the day I earmarked to redo my house-cleansing and protection ritual. I did one when I got the keys, but now that I’ve redecorated and had the ensuite ripped out and redone, actually moved in, and had my birthday party, there’s not only been a lot of people coming in and out but also the flat feels more like home than it did before. And today would have been a great day to do so – it’s a weekend so I’ve got all day to plan and carry it out, and I’m not rushing to get it done in the evening between work and bedtime. It’s also a new moon today/tonight, traditionally a time for banishments and new beginnings, and is the start of the waxing moon cycle, a time of growth.

However, I have a stinking cold which has left me achey, tired, lethargic, and unable to breathe properly, so the chances of me doing anything that involves getting off the sofa for more then five minutes or a lot of mental effort are non-existent. I could shuffle round the flat with frankincense incense for protection, but I don’t particularly want to risk irritating my already pissed-off nose, for while I’m normally fine with incense smoke I really don’t want to do anything that might make me sneeze even more than I already am.

So what am I doing here? It’s been over a year since I started this blog, and I have to admit that I’ve not posted anything close to the number of posts I had planned – I’ve got nearly 20 posts sitting in my ‘drafts’ section, and several more ideas that I want to write about. A lot of this has been work- and home-related, as over the last year I’ve worked on away jobs with little or no internet access, had to do forced overtime and shift work, been sent to sites where my commute has been two hours each way, and been seconded to another department at work where I’ve been sitting at a desk most of the day with a computer in front of me. So when I’ve returned home in the evening I’ve often either been too tired to post, or I’ve not wanted to have a computer screen in front of me at all. Home-wise, I had the joys of five months of stress and anxiety while the processes for me getting my flat dragged out, leaving me wondering whether I’d actually be able to get my own place at all; followed by redecorating, discovering that the damp problem in the ensuite was a lot worse than it looked, buying furniture, and moving my stuff. And when I have had days where I’m awake and don’t have to do anything, I’ve usually preferred to read a book or watch things on DVD or Netflix than write and edit posts.

But I’m still committed to making Church and Circle work, as a result of which I’ve signed up for WordPress’ Blogging 101 course, designed for both completely new bloggers and those (like me) who want to improve their existing blog. This post is my response to the ‘who I am and why I’m here’ prompt, where it’s suggested that existing bloggers ‘revisit what you said when you first started blogging, to take stock of what you’ve accomplished and what more you’d like to do, or to lay out some goals for your next six months’.
Well, not much has changed from what I wrote about my blog aims in December of 2014 – I still want to record my ‘life, attitudes, and practices when it comes to religion’ in a public setting rather than a private journal. Why? Because I like reading about how other people connect with Deity, and it’s entirely possible that someone or someones out there will find how I do that interesting or helpful. And it’s also possible that even if my blog ends up being considered mediocre and not worth much, there will be one or two as-yet-unpublished posts that get a lot of traffic due to their particular content that many people will find useful.
Accomplishments? Well I’ve managed to post on average just over once a month since I started, which isn’t brilliant, but the numbers that make up that average are spread out over fourteen months rather than being bunched up into the first two. I’ve also had a small amount of views and visitors, which isn’t bad for a blog that isn’t publicised anywhere and hasn’t been updated either regularly or frequently since its inception.
As for what more I’d like to do, I want to clear out my drafts section by finishing, editing, and publishing those posts, try and actually do what I said I’d do in May and post at least once a fortnight, and try post about things that I do – how I read tarot cards, how I use my many kinds of prayer beads, how I create sacred space, how I pray. That sort of thing.

And now I’m going to take more paracetamol, have lunch, and get out another blanket to curl up with.

Leave a Reply

